The Truth According to Evelyn

Well hello there! April 7, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — evelyntruth @ 11:05 am

So I haven’t written on here in about…oh I don’t know, a little over 2 years?! Quite a lot has changed since then…I graduated college, moved back in with my parents and am now working two jobs, around 60 hours a week. Life’s a little bit different than it was in college but similar in oh so many ways.

Although I’m working 60 hours a week, the one job I have allows me to be online during my free time so I thought I’d take the time to start blogging again. It was very therapeutic for me back then so I am going to start it up again.

Alright, so I graduated college – That’s kind of a big thing, right? I was so so ready to graduate once I got there. I remember crossing that stage, grabbing my diploma and wanting to scream with happiness. After four years of crazy (like, legit crazy) roommates, stupid boys, bad memories and too many drinks…I had done it. Then a week after graduation, when I was sitting in my room, without a job…I began to realize, “Ah shit, I’m an adult now”…I think I’m going to miss the movie nights with boop, random trips at 2AM to Jim’s steakout, nights out with my international friends and even studying for tests. It was kind of a hard realization….and after 2 months of not having a job it became apparent that what I wanted to run away from so quickly was actually a pretty good deal.

Now, here I am – a working girl with not one, but two jobs. I have gone from working at a staffing agency for construction workers from July-Dec to now working at a staffing agency 5 minutes away from my house…and working at a retail store in the mall as well. Adult life has been a wild ride so far…wild in terms of the fact that the amount of hours I am working is sort of like being in a different state of mind. My life is by no means actually wild – it’s far from that… I’m lucky if I go out once a week. But…I’m actually getting used to it. I figure this is probably the only time in my life I’ll be able to do this – to work as much as I can without too many responsibilities. So although I may complain to my parents (quite frequently, sorry Mom and Dad) and I might be exhausted at the end of the day, I’ve come to the realization that in this day and age I’m lucky to have not only one, but two jobs.

Now the love life on the otherhand… a curse has come upon me. For real – like an actual curse…I swear. Maybe I’ve been watching too many Buffy episodes but it sure feels like I’ve got one – but that’s a story for a whole OTHER post.

Well, I guess I should probably get back to work, huh? Girls got to make a living somehow!

Always telling the truth 🙂

-Evelyn

 

Leave a Reply

